does anyone actually work on cars

A place to discuss guy stuff, in the material sense. Topics and discussions about cars, computers and gadget electronics and other cool "stuff" guys like.

Moderators: selective_soldier, Sconesss, Schlodesss, Cajun

does anyone actually work on cars

Postby fibrgls » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:25 pm

Does anyone want to talk cars with me? Im not into anything else and it is really hard to find someone who really works on and restores cars.
fibrgls

Postby chidiver » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:29 pm

Paging Schlodesss, paging Schlodesss...
chidiver
Veteran Member

Postby Texas_Thang » Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:06 pm

Schlodess or Sconessss, if you're around...

There are a few, honestly.
Resident of Many Places. Home in a few.
Texas_Thang

Postby The_Machinist » Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:29 am

I work on cars in my free time, and I am an industrial mechanic/CNC tech by trade... I work on new powertrain projects for GM, Ford, Chrysler, Harley Davidson, etc. all the time. I'm not home much anymore to do so, but I have a Chevy Caprice station wagon that I have been working on here and there. Most of my car repair work involves keeping my family's beaters running. :P
You can't fix stupid.
The_Machinist

Location: Lima, OH (home)/Baltimore, MD/Buffalo, NY, and soon, Spring Hill, TN

Postby devilnuts » Tue Jan 08, 2008 1:29 pm

I used to work on my own vehicles, but now that everything is getting smaller, electronic, and requiring special tools, I do very little of the work myself. I remember we had a Corporal in my shop that had her alternator go out just before she was supposed to go to Phoenix to get married. They wanted about $500 to repair her car. Being the one that was driving her around, I said that was ridiculous and that we'd buy one and a few of us from the shop would do it and have her on the road in no time. Yeah, because of the size and location of that damn thing, it took us the good portion of a day.