Help me with my English please!

A place for newbies to introduce themselves. A place to talk nicely about other board members and share ideas.

Moderators: selective_soldier, Sconesss, Schlodesss

Help me with my English please!

Postby friend123 » Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:47 am

Hi, everyone. I am a student from Hong Kong. Recently, I have been told that some of the English materials that we Hong Kongers come across daily are 'Chinglish' (i.e. not proper English but somewhat influenced by Chinese). Here I would like to quote some of the materials I found from a local newspaper. Please take a look and see if it sounds weird to you. If it sounds fine to you, do you think it is a good piece of writing?

Extracted from the South China Morning Post-
'Beijing has more to lose than gain by preventing journalists from doing their work. The openness and transparency essential for the nation to move harmoniously forward can largely be assured by free media. That freedoms granted to foreign reporters in the lead-up to and during the Olympic Games have been made permanent is obviously a step in the right direction Extending the rights to domestic news agencies would be an even more meaningful gesture.

Journalists from Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan and overseas have, since January 1 last year, been mostly able to move freely throughout the mainland and carry out interviews without first getting authorisation. The improvements have been largely appreciated and have sharpened coverage. But police and officials have not always respected the rules and the spirit in which they were issued; hundreds of violations have been claimed..'

Thanks a lot!!!!
friend123

Postby olywaguy » Fri Dec 05, 2008 11:08 pm

Actually it is very well written and multi-syllabic. Its very rarely you find such well written prose in daily newspapers.

Here in the U.S., newspapers are written at the 7th grade level in order to ensure everyone can read and understand it.