being straight acting means you're always coming out

Was it tough or was it easy, or are you still locked in? Tell the world anonymously about your gayness should you choose.

Moderators: selective_soldier, furface, foxeyes2, olywaguy

being straight acting means you're always coming out

Postby electricguitar » Sun Oct 30, 2011 6:25 am

I'm an aggressive electric guitarist in a straight guys world. I used to go to allot of jam nights where you meet other players, I had to stop. A few don't care when I tell them I'm homosexual (and actually seem fine from that point on), most say they don't care and then everything becomes doubled arm's length, more just stop talking to me all together. I started coming out when I was 19, I'm 48 now, it's no easier. I almost feel silly posting how bad this feels being I have enough straight friends, male and female who just don't care, they have been a good support system, and a few gay friends, but I sometimes sense tongue clicking and eye rolling for I ain't flaming enough from that group. I also have for about 13 years been with a straight acting partner, so once again, I shouldn't complain. But it always feels horrible to have other musicians be so welcoming and then treat me like I was trying to sneak in under their radar because I didn't show loud and clear signs of my "gayness". They approach me first, they hang all over me, they applaud when I play, they sometimes ask for guitar lessons, then they treat me as if I was some kind of traitor when I or someone else tells them my "deal", and its easy for me to spot when someone else tells them. This has been going on for decades with me and the reason I googled "straight acting in a gay world" and found straightacting.com. I'm sure this treatment has fueled my guitar playing, almost to the point of pushing it's limits as an act of revenge - Thanks for starting this group, it did help me this morning to vent this. I'll end in saying I think it's actually getting better out there