Computer Help

All things website and computer related have a new home right here.

Moderators: selective_soldier, furface, olywaguy, solat

Computer Help

Postby olywaguy » Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:51 am

I need some computer.

I just hooked up my computer to my big screen TV. However, for some reason, no audio is coming out. I did hookup the cable with the yellow, red, and white thingamajigs (the technical term) onto the plug-in on the TV from the computer tower that I have (old Gateway computer). The sound works perfectly when the TV is on. So, what is going on? Am I missing a cable?
Carlos

"I just want to suck his tongue out of his mouth !"--JPaul


http://www.askcarlos.com/
http://carlos-the-critic.blogspot.com/
User avatar
olywaguy
Moderator
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:08 pm
Location: Tupelo, Mississippi

Re: Computer Help

Postby furface » Thu Jun 30, 2011 10:32 am

First question to answer is: Does the sound card in the tower work properly? Check it with a set of speakers. It may not be working and no output means no sound to the TV speaker system. If the card is not working, pull and reseat it. Try again, still not working - replace sound card. This assumes the sound card is not built into the motherboard. If that's the case - YSOL.

If the audio output from the tower is functioning properly....

Ya might want to dig up the manual for the set. Some of those large screen sets require changing the source setting for the set to activate the A/V inputs for each time ya use a different input device. Also make sure you've actually made the connection to the audio inputs and not the audio outputs. My Samsung has both sets next to each other. I don't use the inputs at all as I use the outputs only to pipe the audio stream to the A/V receiver and its internal surround system and its 6 speakers.
"Do not ascribe malice to that which can be reasonably explained by ignorance ... or incompetence."
Isaac Asimov
User avatar
furface
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 7:35 pm
Location: The Colony, TX

Re: Computer Help

Postby olywaguy » Thu Jun 30, 2011 4:05 pm

Well, a very attractive technician from the Internet provider came by today. Last night, my modem was giving me problems because the Ready light was not staying steady. It would blink really fast and then slow down, and then it would be steady for a while.

Turns out that the modem wasn't installed properly. The good looking technician made it right. I asked him about the no sound and it seems like I need a DVI to DVI connection in order to get both picture and audio at the same time. The DVI to HDMI cable connection wasn't working. I got visual on INPUT 5 and audio on INPUT 3 but not at the same time. He also told me I could connect it to the AUX connection in my stereo and I would get both sound and visual.
Carlos

"I just want to suck his tongue out of his mouth !"--JPaul


http://www.askcarlos.com/
http://carlos-the-critic.blogspot.com/
User avatar
olywaguy
Moderator
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:08 pm
Location: Tupelo, Mississippi


Return to Web and Computers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron